Wednesday, May 11, 2011

Why konkanstha?

Two months before when we have started this Konkanstha Maratha Samaj Mahasangh Blogsite and Facebook Group, we never thought we will get such a good response. Many people asked us why u named this blogsite as Konkanstha Maratha Samaj Mahasangh. Mahasangh was suggested by Bakul Paingankar.  

Now you will think why konkanstha? The Konkan (Marathi/[Konkani language|Konkani]]: कोंकण; Tulu/Kannada: ಕೊನ್ಕನ್; Malyalam: കൊങ്കണ്‍ ) also called the Konkan Coast or Karavali, is a rugged section of the western coastline of India from Mumbai to Mangalore. The Sapta-Konkan is a slightly larger region described in the Skanda-purana. Maharashtra Sate have its konkan administrative division but that is limited from Mumbai to Sindhudurg only.

Here we are using wide term which is used in Skand Puran and i.e. Sapta Konkan. Which starts from Mumbai ends at kerala. Residents of Konkan and their descendants are called Konkanis. The name may also refer specifically to the Konkani people, ethnic group of the region; most of whom speak the Konkani language and its dialects like Malvani, Chitpavani, Muslim konkani. The Sanskrit term Konkanastha (कोंकणस्थ), means "Resident of Konkan". That the reason behind naming this group as Konkanstha Maratha Samaj Mahasangh.  

Konkan consists Mumbai, Raigad, Ratnagiri, Sindhudurg districts of Maharashtra, Goa state, Uttar kannad and some part of Dkshin kannad of Karnataka state. Our community is found in Mumbai,Sindhudurg, Goa and Uttar kannada. All are from same Sapta konkan region. Entire konkan region have same food habits like Rice and Fish (spl. bangada curry) and fruits like Mangoes, Cashew nuts, jack fruit. Konkani people speaks konkani and Marathi. They have same physique. Considering all these similarities we named our blogsite as Konkanstha Maratha Samaj Mahasangh.    

We belongs to or related to
  1. Gomantak Maratha Samaj Goa and Mumbai
  2. Naik Maratha Samaj Sindhudurg and Mumbai
  3. Nutan Maratha Samaj Sindhudurg
  4. Konakni Maratha Sindhudurg to Rajapur
  5. Karwar Naik Samaj
  6. Karwar Gomantak Maratha Samaj   

No comments: